摄影

我们用摄影以引人注目的方式来交流我们的产品,并与我们的受众建立有意义的联系。 我们的摄影诚实、上进、意义深远、动感、迷人而真实,——绝非有意安排——讲述一个个引人入胜的故事,具体涉及四个类别:

环境

利用这类摄影图片,通过聚焦我们的产品的应用场所来描述一个宏观概念。 其构图应突出广泛的应用规模,给人一种规模感和动感。

人员

利用这类摄影图片展示我们的员工和客户在他们所从事的各种项目中所展现的创造力和远见,以此展示他们的执着与专业精神。

产品

利用这类摄影图片展示我们的产品在现实世界环境中的应用。 其构图应专注于产品,说明其在整个循环过程中发挥的重要作用。

产品轮廓

批准的产品摄影包括整洁、简单的赛莱默产品的静物画图片。 将产品从让人分散注意力的背景中分离出来(显出轮廓)。 它们应当明亮,从观察角度拍摄,呈现我们设计方案的完整部分。

注意: 如果您计划在美国和加拿大以外国家的传播中使用摄影图片,确保这些图片与全球受众息息相关,并照顾受众的文化感受。

摄影风格

选择、放置并裁剪摄影图片用于我们的材料中时,请切记三个总体风格原则。 使用表现这些原则的图片将有助于创造更多引人注目的动态布局。

不对称

选用表现出不对称构图的摄影图片。 这意味着照片的主体,例如人物或产品,不应在边框内的中央位置,而应稍稍偏向一侧。 这有助于在图片内营造视觉张力,形成更加动感的布局。

使用不对称的构图或裁剪,创造有活力、吸引人的图片。 将关键元素放在偏离画面正中的位置可为图片注入视觉张力。

比例

摄影图片应具有运用超大比例的特点。 在拍摄具有人物和环境的图片时这一点尤为重要。 例如,如要突出某一水电站的强大本质,可采用人小景大的拍摄手法,水电站工人占比很小,水电站环境占据构图的主导比重。

运用比例聚焦图片的关键元素。 可在人物和产品的给定环境中给予其特写镜头和远景镜头。

生动性

摄影图片应当生动、活泼。 使用明亮而富有色彩的图片传达乐观和活力。 如有可能,应选择主题色彩与我们的调色板中的色彩类似的图片,让我们的传播保持始终如一的外观和风格。

应使用明亮的图片来传达积极、乐观。 可首选我们调色板中生动的色彩注入到我们的图片中,营造一种活力的感觉。

应当避免的做法

由于摄影图片是我们视觉系统十分重要的一部分,正确地选择并应用至关重要。 下面列出我们摄影风格的一些误解的例子。

不要使用陈词滥调或隐喻的图片。

不要使用感觉为有意安排的、不真实的图片。

不要混合摄影图片来创建单幅图像。 遵循下列使用多幅图像的指导准则

有效利用摄影

在传播文字中插入照片进行特写时,重要的是首先确定总体信息,然后选择和使用相应的图像。

我们所有传播的目标在于尽可能以最简单明了的方式讲述一个富有吸引力的故事。 为实现这一目标,我们偏向于采用富有表现力的单幅图像,抓住故事的精髓。 可能存在一些使用单幅图像无法完全地讲述故事的场合。 在此类情况下,可使用成组的多幅图像,但它们应彼此完全不同。 通常在两种情况下采用多幅图像很有帮助:

阐述多个产品环境

当某一信息阐述多个产品环境需要通过图片来描绘时,将多幅图片紧邻放置。

完整地展现产品的全部情况

由于和产品本身相比产品环境往往规模宏大,因此在单幅图像中同时成功地突出产品和产品环境这二者可能很困难。 在此类情况下,可安排多幅图像以便清楚地展现产品的全部情况,按照先宏观层面(产品环境)、再微观层面(产品特写)的次序。

访问经批准的图像

经批准的图片库

点击页面右上角的“下载这些文件”,可访问一系列免版税图片,这些图片已经在往期的赛莱默出版物中被使用过,包括客户和员工品牌图书。

水系统解决方案图像库

具有有效的Xylem Inc.电子邮件地址的用户有资格注册和使用水系统解决方案媒体银行,网址:http://www.e-tool.se/itt/。 请注意,在此网站上找到的资产主要由水系统解决方案价值中心使用,可能不适合您的地区。

图示及插画风格

我们的图示风格与我们的人格特征保持密切一致,具有直观、友好的风格。 这一视觉语言与我们品牌的其他视觉方面相一致。

图示

图示可以用来帮助为用户浏览我们的网站提供导航,说明宣传册内谈论的观点,或者代表我们能力及所服务行业的广度。

确保图标简单且具有描述性——具有整洁、明晰的形状。 利用淡彩效果和透明效果,使插图具有层次感,颇具深度和 独特性。 它们还应表现出一定程度的不对称,裁剪掉其图形的部分边界形状。

全色调色板可应用于图示。 但是,单独的图标应基于单色。 例如,下方显示的制药图标具有两个药丸形状,是使用改变赛莱默浅绿的亮度和透明度之后的色彩创建而成。

Icons

技术插图

技术插图帮助客户更好地了解我们的产品和服务。 在制作这类插图时,应使用剖面图和透明度展示关键细节,或使用细直线描绘出简单的技术信息。 避免不必要的细节。

Rev: 12-01-2014

Photography & Illustration

We use photography to communicate our offerings in a compelling manner, and to establish meaningful connections with our audiences. Our photography is honest, aspirational, purposeful, dynamic, engaging and real – never staged – leading to compelling narratives within four category types:

Environments

Use this type of photography to convey the “big picture” by focusing on where our products are used. Compositions should feature dramatic use of scale and evoke a sense of scale and movement.

People

Use this type of photography to showcase the dedication of our employees and customers by exhibiting their creativity and vision through the various projects they undertake.

Product

Use this type of photography to showcase our products in the context of real-world environments. Compositions should focus on product while illustrating its vital role in the larger process.

Product silhouettes

Approved product photography includes still-life imagery of Xylem products that are clean and simple. Remove products from distracting backgrounds (silhouetting). They should be well-lit and taken from angles of perspective, appearing an integrated part of our design approach.

NOTE: If you plan to use photography in communications outside the U.S. and Canada, ensure the images are relevant and culturally sensitive to a global audience.

Photographic style

Keep three general style principles in mind when selecting, placing and cropping photography for use in our materials. Using photos that exhibit these principles will help to create more compelling and dynamic layouts.

Asymmetry

Select and use photography that exhibits an asymmetrical composition. This means that the main subject of the photograph, such as a person or product, should not be centered within the frame but slightly askew. This helps to create visual tension within the image and a more dynamic layout.

Use asymmetrical composition or cropping to create active, engaging imagery. Visual tension can be instilled into an image by placing key aspects outside the center of the frame.

Scale

Photography should feature dynamic use of scale. This is especially important when featuring people and environments. For example, accentuating the powerful nature of a hydro-plant can be achieved by featuring a plant worker very small while having the plant environment dominate the composition.

Use scale to focus attention on key aspects of a photograph. People and products may be shown up close or from far away within their given environments.

Vividness

Photography should be vivid and lively. Use imagery that is well-lit and colorful to convey optimism and vitality. When possible, select photos that feature colors similar to those within our color palette to retain a consistent look and feel to our communications.

Use well-lit imagery to convey positivity and optimism. Spots of vivid colors, preferably from our color palette, may be infused in our imagery to create a sense of vitality.

What to avoid

Since photography is an important part of our visual system, it is critical to select and apply it correctly. Displayed below are some examples of misinterpretation of our photographic style.

Do not use images that are cliché or metaphoric.

Do not use images that feel staged and unauthentic.

Do not blend photography to create a single image. Follow the guidelines below for using multiple images

Effective use of photography

When featuring photography within communications it is important to first determine the overall message and then select and use images accordingly.

The goal for all our communications is to tell a compelling story in the most simple and clear manner possible. To accomplish this, we prefer to feature a single, expressive image that captures the essence of the story. There may be some situations where it is not possible to tell the story through use of a single image. In these cases, use multiple images that are grouped but clearly distinct from each other. There are generally two situations where featuring multiple images is helpful:

Addressing multiple product environments

When messaging addresses multiple product environments that need to be represented through imagery, feature the photos adjacent to each other.

Telling a complete product story

Since product environments are often grand in scale when compared to the products themselves, it may be difficult to capture both successfully in one image. In these situations organize multiple images to clearly tell the complete story,starting at the macro-level (product environment) and ending at the micro-level (product up-close).

Access to approved imagery

Approved Stock Photography

Click on “Download these files” at the upper right to access a selection of royalty-free photos that have been used in previous Xylem publications, including the customer and employee brand books.

Water Solutions Image Library

Users with a valid Xylem Inc. email address are eligible to register for and use the Water Solutions media bank found at http://www.e-tool.se/itt/. Please note that assets found at this site are intended mainly for use by the Water Solutions Growth Center and may not be appropriate to your region.

Iconography and illustration style

Our iconographic style is closely aligned with our personality attributes through a straightforward and friendly approach. This visual language is consistent with other visual aspects of our brand.

Iconography

Iconography can be used to help a user navigate our web site, illustrate an idea discussed within a brochure, or to represent the breadth of our capabilities and the industries we service.

Ensure icons are simple and descriptive – featuring clean, recognizable shapes. Use tints and transparency effects to achieve a layered look to illustrations, giving them depth and distinctiveness. They should also exhibit a level of asymmetry with the graphics cropped out of their bounding shapes.

The full color palette is available for application to iconography. However, individual icons should be based on a single color. For example, the pharmaceuticals icon featuring two pill shapes displayed below is created using varying tints and transparencies of Xylem Aqua.

Icons

Technical illustration

Our technical illustrations help our customers achieve a better understanding of our products and offerings. When creating these illustrations, use cutaway and transparency to reveal key details, or single-weight lines for simple technical information. Avoid unnecessary detail.

Rev: 12-01-2014